Tuscan Trip Pitigliano

Visit Italy’s Museums for Free Online

Given the recent outbreak of Coronavirus, many have had to, unfortunately, cut their Italian vacations short, or cancel altogether. With an uncertain future, even more, individuals have canceled their upcoming trips for the summer as well. While you may not be able to visit Italy’s museums for a while, luckily Google Art’s & Culture provides virtual exhibitions in many of Italy most popular museums.

What is Google Arts & Culture?

Visit Italy with Google Arts & Culture

Google Arts and Culture is an online platform which documents high resolution images and VR videos of cultural centers and museums around the world. It has proven to be a great tool for museums to catalog their collections and document temporary exhibitions. It also allows for individuals to visit museums and explore art collections all around the world.

Let’s visit Italy’s Museums!

Florence

Florence Cathedral Duomo
Cathedral of Florence: Santa Maria del Fiore

Were you planning a trip to Florence? Though you may miss out on the impressive view of seeing the David in person, or the opportunity to climb Brunelleschi’s Dome… You can explore the Uffizi Gallery and Palazzo Vecchio! And even skip all the lines!

Palazzo Vecchio- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/palazzo-vecchio-museum

Uffizi Gallery- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/uffizi-gallery

Rome:

Rome really is an open air museum, while much can be explored through photos, Google Arts and Culture has documented many of the famous museums. Unfortunately, the Vatican Museums is not on Google, but they do have their own Virtual Tours you can explore here.

Musei Capitolini- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/musei-capitolini

St. John the Lateran: http://www.vatican.va/various/basiliche/san_giovanni/vr_tour/index-en.html

Mercati di Traiano- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/mercati-di-traiano

Baths of Diocletian- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/terme-di-diocleziano

La Galleria Nazionale- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/La-Galleria-Nazionale

MAXXI- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/maxxi-museo-nazionale-delle-arti-del-xxi-secolo

Museo delle Mura- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/museo-delle-mura

Museo di Roma Trastevere- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/museo-di-roma-in-trastevere

Venice:

Venice

Venice’s true beauty lies in her canals, but her historic palaces also hold an abundance of beautiful Renaissance art. Explore some classic pieces of Venetian art with the Doge’s Palace.

Doge’s Palace- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/palazzo-ducale

Palazzo Grassi- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/palazzo-grassi

Ca’ Pesaro, Gallery of Modern Art- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/ca-pesaro-galleria-internazionale-d-arte-moderna

Milan:

Milan is a grand mix of art and culture, while you may be most familiar with the Last Supper, take the time to explore Milans many other incredible collections.

Science and Technology Museum- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/museo-nazionale-della-scienza-e-della-tecnologia-leonardo-da-vinci

Museo Diocesano- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/museo-diocesano-milano

Museo del 900- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/museo-del-novecento

Triennale- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/la-triennale-di-milano

Sforzesco Castle- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/castello-sforzesco

And for the Last Supper you can google any image… that is actually all it is. 

Torino:

It is such a shame to not be able to share my beautiful city with everyone, but i hope by exploring these collections at the Venaria and Palazzo Madama, that you will be inspired to visit Torino in the future!

La Venaria Reale- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/la-venaria-reale

Street Art Museum- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/sam-street-art-museum

Borgo Medievale- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/borgo-medievale-torino

GAM- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/galleria-civica-di-arte-moderna-e-contemporanea-torino

Palazzo Madama- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/palazzo-madama

Campania:

Luckily you can still visit Pompeii with an amazing virutal tour!

Explore Pompeii-  https://artsandculture.google.com/streetview/pompeii/DQHczKZUoHnwiQ

Archaeological Museum of Naples- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/national-archaeological-museum-of-naples

Museo Capodimonte- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/museo-e-real-bosco-di-capodimonte

Sassi Matera

Basilicata:

Matera, or at least highlights of 2019 Capital of Culture Program: https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/matera-basilicata-foundation-2019

Sicily:

Valle dei Tempi Agrigento- https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/parco-archeologico-e-paesaggistico-valle-dei-templi

Continue your journey

The truth is Google Arts and Culture has more museums and gallery collections than I can share here. But you can continue your journey through all of Italy’s beautiful culture here.

One Comment

Leave a Reply